Are potatoes gluten free? It’s one of the biggest questions gluten intolerant people face. The truth is that gluten is actually the protein found in rye, barley, and wheat (as well as various product derivatives produced from these grains) but not potato! But people with gluten allergy symptoms still have to exercise caution when shopping for foods high in starch.
Just like rice, potatoes are also a staple on the gluten free diet. Many people who follow this type of diet avoid all starchy and processed carbohydrates, choosing instead to go with unprocessed organic produce, like mashed potatoes. It’s important to remember though that even if you’re not avoiding bread, pasta, and grains like rice and pasta, there are still chances that your favorite potato dish will use flour or some derivative of flour. If you buy mashed potatoes in bulk, it’s always best to purchase the type that’s already mashed rather than using prepared varieties. For example, mashed potatoes that come from the store come pre-mixed so you won’t have to spend extra time or effort to make them.
Some traditional Italian dishes actually contain gluten, meaning you have to read the labels carefully if you want to use potatoes in your Italian meals. Many baked potatoes have been marked “gluten free” and may contain no gluten at all. However, the word “gluten free” on the packaging doesn’t mean that the potatoes themselves are free from gluten, just that they have been prepared without gluten.
Unfortunately, not all products labeled “gluten-free” really are safe to eat, especially when it comes to French fries and potato chips. Both of these products typically contain trans fats and other unhealthy fats, which can increase your cholesterol level and cause heart disease. Trans fats can also increase your blood pressure and cause depression. So be careful what you put into your body when you’re trying to stay healthy and lose weight.
Even with the “organic” label, you can never be sure exactly where your potatoes came from. Just remember that the potatoes used to make French fries are likely to have come from the potato industry whether they are gluten free or not. A lot of the time, you’ll also find lard and animal fats used to prepare French fries as well. So be aware that not only do French fries have gluten, they are probably filled with other unhealthy fats and unhealthy chemicals as well.
While many people suffer from gluten sensitivity, not everyone has it. However, the foods like pizza, brownies and French fries are actually okay for those with gluten sensitivity or those who have a gluten allergy. Just be aware of the ingredients and pay attention to the nutrition facts. Those with food allergies should definitely avoid them, but those without gluten sensitivity can eat those types of foods as long as they are carefully monitored.