Trying to live with Celiac and gluten allergies? If you are then you will be glad to know that there is gluten free alcohol for you. I know what you are thinking, “vodka?” Well, if you’re one of the many people who suffer from this horrible condition then you have come to the right place. Here are a few options for you.
First, let’s talk about specialty vodkas. If you are allergic to gluten, or Celiac, you most likely already know that you cannot drink most common vodkas because they were distilled from wheat. But luckily for you, there are actually some gluten free vodka selections for you to enjoy. There are a lot of organic, grass-fed and free trade vodkas on the market now that are distilled using alternative methods. In fact, some of these are better than regular quality vodkas.
A great selection that I would recommend is Tito and Margarita glasses. These glasses can be found at almost any liquor store and they come in either silver or gold. I’m not sure why Tito and Margarita glasses are so popular for those who are gluten free diets, but who cares? They are a great option for a night out with your friends.
If you want something more traditional, then you might want to try gluten free vodka in wheat wines. These are a fun way to get around the problem of wheat in your diet without having to completely give up your favorite flavors. Most gluten free vodka comes in wheat wines and white blend. There are a few brands that are even coming out with wheat wine and white blend. In fact, if you look hard enough, you will be able to find some brand names that are doing this right now. Brands like Freeman’s and Mr. Price’s are doing this right now.
You should keep in mind that there are a few brands of gluten free vodka that are actually distilled from corn and not from rye. One example of this is rye whiskey, which was actually derived from corn rather than from wheat. It is actually easier to find distilled grain whiskey than it is premium vodka, since there aren’t as many options for gluten grains wheat-free vodka.
If you keep your options open, there is really no reason that you cannot buy gluten free vodka in just about every other liquor store that is selling hard liquor. Of course, it will be available in fewer varieties, since most companies don’t offer them. That being said, there are still a lot of great options out there, including brands that are distilled from all kinds of gluten grains rather than just rye. The variety that is out there today is truly incredible.