The question of whether or not you should eat oatmeal gluten free has been coming up more lately. If you have celiac disease, this is an absolute no-brainer. However, there are other reasons to avoid it as well, and I’m going to explain both the pro’s and con’s of eating oatmeal. By the time you have finished reading this article, you will be better informed on a healthy and safe alternative for people with food allergies and those suffering with celiac disease.
The first reason that you should avoid oatmeal if you’re allergic to wheat is pretty easy. It contains oats, which are allergenic. In fact, there are people who are allergic to wheat and barley. This means that any foods that are labeled “wheat-free” or “baked goods with oats” are safe for those with gluten intolerance. However, you should still read the label carefully.
You have a serious problem when it comes to avoiding gluten if you have a problem with wheat intolerance. Many cereals contain a gluten protein which is the culprit behind the formation of gluten intolerance symptoms such as headaches, fatigue, and weight gain. This is why so many people are now choosing to eat naturally gluten-free instead. You can avoid eating hot cereal for those who have a wheat and barley allergy by choosing one of the following alternatives:
Gluten-Free To Meats: There are some very good, high quality products available on the market today that are truly gluten free oatmeal. They come from farmers who grow their own oats, which means that they don’t use any oats from other suppliers. The most popular product is called Maalox, which is a high quality product that is free of all the chemical ingredients that you may find in regular oatmeal. It is also free of trifecta (which means that it contains no corn, rye, or barley).
Wheat Free: Many people who have problems with wheat and barley are also finding trouble with oatmeal gluten free. One reason is that some people don’t recognize the difference between oatmeal made from whole wheat, and oatmeal that is “gluten free”. Because the FDA doesn’t regulate what goes into foods, some companies are able to use the wrong ingredients. Other ingredients can be harmful to those with celiac disease. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye, and many other common grains.
Naturally Gluten Free Cheerios: Just like oatmeal, there are many healthy choices on the market today that are true “gluten-free”. Some companies, such as Enjoy Life, produce both kinds of oatmeal. They offer wheat-free and gluten-free Cheerios in a variety of flavors. The only drawback with gluten-free Cheerios is that you may not always know that they are free. When you read the ingredients on the back, some companies omit the protein gluten. To make sure you are getting an all-natural, gluten-free alternative, make your own hummus, which is basically a modified yogurt, or experiment with different flavors.