Have you been using gluten-free products and recipes to substitute regular alcohol with gluten-free alcohol? If not, you will notice the vast improvements in your taste of alcohol when you do so. As a matter of fact, many people have converted from regular vodka to gluten-free tipple or wheat whiskey. You can also try out some gluten-free rum or brandy. The key to this convertion from regular liquor to gluten-free is basically two factors: the corn and wheat content in the product and the way it has been processed.
In order to come up with gluten-free vodka, the absence of gluten must be taken into consideration. In most recipes, gluten is used for starchy substances, as it prevents them from spoiling or clogging the product’s texture. For instance, oats or potatoes, which are part of the starch part of wheat, are usually included in all breads and crackers. Even so, wheat flour is required in some recipes. To make gluten-free beer, the use of barley grain in the dough is necessary, as barley is one of the main gluten containing grain in barley. Moreover, certain wheat berries or fruits may also need to be added into the recipe in order to give the product that authentic flavor.
When looking for gluten-free vodkas, distilled spirits are the best ones to choose. These are made without any gluten and only contains alcohol, so no harmful carbohydrates or sugars are incorporated into the drink. Some popular brands of distilled alcoholic drinks is Jack Daniel’s, Bailey’s Irish Cream, Captain Morgan and Brown’s Irish Red. Distilled spirits are usually cheaper than those containing gluten.
Other popular types of gluten free vodka are the premium vodkas and rums. These are usually made from rice, corn or rye, as these ingredients can be readily found. Nevertheless, premium vodka is the most expensive variety, as it is created using distilled grain. The cheaper variety is made from corn, which can be purchased in bulk.
Rums are another popular type of gluten free vodka, as they are a very good option for people with food allergies, as they do not contain any gluten grains. White rums are produced by mixing the vodka with wheat whiskey but make sure not to substitute it with any other brand of whiskey. White rums are also known for their ability to smooth and mellow down any flavors present during the cocktail making process. Other non-grain-based vodkas that are commonly available are wheat, rye, and corn. It is advisable though to make a tasting to see how each variety tastes.
Many gluten-free alcoholics are now starting to enjoy hard liquor, as it does not contain gluten grains in any form. However, they are still limited in their options, as many brands still contain gluten grains, and are difficult to find. If you or someone you know has this condition, then gluten free vodka is the perfect solution for them to have an alcoholic drink that is free from gluten. As long as gluten-free products are accessible to those with dietary needs, then there will be no more excuses for people with allergies or special diets.