What does gluten-free mean? The word “gluten-free” typically means that the food has been removed from wheat, barley and rye, which are the staple ingredients of most baked goods. While it is possible to find gluten-free products that still contain traces of wheat, they are very minimal compared to the gluten-free foods that you can find. In addition, gluten free food contains all of the nutrients, vitamins, minerals, and enzymes that you need for good health.
A gluten-free diet generally consists of twenty parts per million (PPM) of gluten. This is the equivalent of about one ounce of gluten-filled bread or product which contains more than twenty parts per million. Generally, products that have less than twenty parts per million also don’t pass muster and aren’t considered gluten-free.
There are many products that aren’t free, but aren’t technically gluten free either. For example, there is no legal definition stating that the phrase “that crackers have wheat” actually means that it contains twenty parts per million of gluten. Cross-contamination of baked goods isn’t the only issue which cause cross-contamination, but it is the most common occurrence. Gluten free certification is not mandatory; however, some products which used to be gluten-free are now being labeled as such because of new regulations regarding gluten cross-contamination.
Most gluten free foods are considered to be very safe for the average person to consume, so long as it is consumed in the appropriate portions. This means that the amount of gluten you need to consume on a daily basis is the same amount you would need to ingest if you were eating non-organic, non-herently safe ingredients. Generally, foods containing less than twenty parts per million of gluten are considered to be safe for the average person to consume on an ongoing basis, and most often these products include: breads, pasta, rice, cookies, cakes, cookies, and snack foods like potato chips or popcorn. These are generally considered to be healthy and usually do not cause major digestive issues.
A gluten free foods product should not contain: sugar, corn, potatoes, yeast products, dairy products, fish, chicken, peanuts, corn, soy, wheat, milk, eggs, and chocolate. The specific ingredients label (if it states the ingredients are all-natural or organic) will specify which gluten grains or soybeans are used in the processing of the product. Many times, natural and organic gluten grains can be purchased at health food stores and online, and sometimes the gluten grains used in the making of your favorite dishes can be found online, but some of the gluten free foods that can be found in health food and grocery stores may not always be certified as all-natural. If this is the case with your favorite recipe, it is safe to assume that you are consuming all-natural ingredients.
When purchasing cookware for yourself or your family, be sure to read the labels of any items that you purchase to ensure they are safe to use as a source for what you will be making, serving, or eating. There are many different types of gluten-free cookware, such as pans with no gluten coating, pita pans, nonstick frying pans, cookie sheets with no gluten coating, dough sheets, sponge puddings, and more. These products are widely available through various online food retailers and sellers, as well as at specialty food retailers around the country. In addition, it is important to be aware that just because a product is gluten-free doesn’t necessarily mean that it is healthy or safe. Always check the ingredient label and conduct thorough research before purchasing any type of gluten-free food cross-contact cookware.